Check In

There’s a reason I don’t keep house plants…  I’m all happy and attentive with them at first, then I get caught back into my regular routine and they usually die.  😦  Poor plants.  Unfortunately that seems to be what’s happening with this blog too.  But the good thing is that I’m creating new routines and I’m not blogging as much because I’m cooking healthy food!!!

Speaking of cooking healthy food, I want to share a recipe I came up with over the long weekend, but first I have to tell you why I needed to create this recipe in the first place…  Friday was an inclement weather day for us.  In other words, roads were iced over and nobody knew how to get across town to go to work.  So hubby and I went to my in-laws to have a family breakfast with them and the kids.  Not knowing what food they had on hand I grabbed both a breakfast and a lunch entree.  Fortunately hubby was making eggs, so I got a protein serving in too.  We went to the mall for a while after that and didn’t end up getting back home until about 3:30, at which point I was tired and took a nap.  I didn’t wake up until almost 6.  Now, on Nutrisystem you’re not supposed to go more than 4 hours without eating, except overnight.  That, plus the fact that I still had add ins from breakfast & lunch plus my full dinner, a snack and my dessert…  I had a LOT of eating to do.

Even if you didn’t know this about me before it probably won’t be a shock to find out that I’m just not a veggie person.  So when I found myself confronted with the fact that I had to have 4-5 servings of veggies on top of all of my other food I almost gave up and skipped them all for the day.  But then I had a brilliant idea…

A few days ago I picked up a few cans of low sodium V8, since 4 oz can count as 1 veggie serving.  I drank a can on its own and it was terrible, but I thought…  maybe I can use it as a soup base!  Which is exactly what I did!  Last night I used a NS grilled chicken breast entree, a couple of baby portabellas, about half of a zucchini, some garlic powder & garlic salt and a bit of Tobasco…  suddenly I had 4 veggie servings PLUS my entree sitting in front of me in a bowl.  It turned out so good I made it again today with a frozen chicken breast (counted as 2 protein servings).  I looked at it before I took a bite and wasn’t thrilled about eating the same thing again, but after I did take a bite I didn’t care because it was so tasty!!!

And before I go, for anyone who’s keeping track, to date I’ve lost 17.8 pounds.  Part is due to medication my doctor put me on this week, but I don’t care…  my jeans are getting big!!!  Glad I saved a few pairs that I “outgrew!!!”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 14:33:55

    Sounds like you are doing great! My nephew has taken to making his ramen with V8 and adding in some chicken bouillon. I guess now I’ll have to try it!

    Reply

  2. Amanda
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 21:21:34

    Wow you go girl!!! I am down 25 pounds myself from Novemeber. It is really hard for me to eat ever couple of hours I am used to eating once or twice a day so its a big adjustment. Keep up the good work.

    Reply

  3. Motorcycle Yogi
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 21:13:02

    lol bonk!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

