Cheap Date!

My discovery for today is that it is totally not worth it for me to go to a buffet anymore. 

I attended a workshop today so I had a long lunch period.  After running an errand I ended up at a Chinese buffet.  I figured it would be quick and easy and at least somewhat healthier than picking up a burger and fries.  I went to get my first plate…  4 pieces of sushi, some lo mein, 3 pieces of General Tzo’s chicken, a biscuit, 2 spring rolls, 2 small cheese puffs and 2/3 of a bowl of egg drop soup.  All of what I got (besides the soup) hardly covered the small plate.  I barely finished!  Forget about seconds.  OR dessert!!!!  Man, I was so looking forward to that cheesecake and flan, but no.  Denied.  I didn’t even eat my fortune cookie!!

Now, I didn’t waddle out or anything like that, but I was full.  I didn’t want to eat anymore (well, I did, but I knew I’d be regretting it for the rest of my training session).  I could have left some behind and been comfortable, but something in my head kept compelling me to at least finish my plate.  I wasn’t one of the “Clean Plate Club” kids growing up, so it wasn’t that.  I felt like I had to get my money’s worth out of it.  At $11 (including the tip) I still don’t feel like I did.

At just the opposite end of that spectrum – tonight hubby and I and the babies went to Costco to pick up a few things.  We ate dinner there.  I split a $2 slice of pizza with my 3 year old (meaning I ate about 3/4 – with the grease soaked off of course).  After that all 4 of us shared a hand dipped ice cream bar.  Toward the end of the ice cream I had to say no more.  So, 3/4 of a $2 slice of pizza and 1/4 of a $1.50 ice cream…  yeah I’d say I’m a cheap date these days!  😉

(but it’s good to know that I’m not eating as much!)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Shannon
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 12:45:05

    Hmmmm… this weeks pound is now off, so maybe it was worth it? lol!

    Reply

Leave a comment