No ‘poo – shampoo #2

I really hoped that my next no ‘poo update would not have news of me shampooing my hair.  Unfortunately it does.  And I think I’ll have to shampoo at least once more.

My hair was getting dried out a bit at the ends, and very hard to brush while it was wet (that’s just something with my hair texture…  normally I condition it within an inch of it’s life to get a brush through it).  Since the conditioner only method didn’t work out for me – still causing the skin irritation behind my ears – I decided to use a natural oil to condition my hair.  Hubby suggested almond oil since in ayurveda it has moisturizing properties for the skin, so we got some.  I used it and it would seem that I used too much.  I came out of the bath looking like I hadn’t washed my hair in a month (ba-dum-bump!) and my tangles weren’t any better.  I used baking soda paste and it got some of the oil out, but it still looked pretty greasy.  I shampooed this morning and I’m still looking greasy.  I think if I wash one more time I’ll at least have enough out that I won’t have to rock a permanent pony tail.

I’m undecided on if the oil actually did anything to help the condition of my hair or not.  I’ll try it again in a week or two (using a much smaller amount of oil) and see how it goes.  If this doesn’t work I’ve hear coconut oil works well.  I’ll just have to see what works best for me!

Leave a Reply

