Oh Halloween…

I love Halloween.  It’s always been one of my favorite holidays.  Hey, what’s not to like?  You get to dress up (or down) and there’s candy involved…  always a good thing right?  Maybe not if you’re trying to lose weight…  maybe it’s one of the reasons I need to lose weight in the first place.

The fam and I had a good Halloween.  It wasn’t one of the best, but it’s probably just because we’re feeling out our routine now that we’re in our own house again.  And because we’re feeling out the new neighborhood, we had candy left over for the first time in about 5 or 6 years.  The kids candy got left at the in-laws and I’m hoping that’s where it stays, because I don’t think I’ll survive if it’s all here…  either way, we had full bowl of candy left and now it’s in my house…  calling me…  tempting me…  teasing me…  beckoning me to eat it.  Yay me, right?

So, seing as I’m really bad about completely resisting sweets, I am limiting myself.  I took 5 pieces to work today and I had 5 pieces after dinner.  (Please, if you know the calorie count or any equivalencies on fun sized candy, I don’t want to know.)  Obviously the sweets only on weekends is temporarily out the door.  But I have to say, since the candy has been around the house I’ve noticed that I can ‘t eat much more than 5 pieces at a time anyway.  Hubby and I went to a movie the other night and I made us baggies of the Halloween candy to take.  We each ate 4 and then put it away.  Not having sweets during the week is really making a difference in how much I can eat at one sitting.  I used to be able to eat the richest of desserts without a second thought.  Not so much anymore, which tells me the choices I’ve been making are for the good.

Now let’s just hope that I can still pull off another pound this week.  After the weekend candyfest and my lift of the weekly candy ban, 1 pound may be a tall order!

Leave a Reply

