More on Ayurveda

I am just beginning my learning on the practice of Ayurveda.  What I’ve come to find is that Ayurveda is actually a system of medicine.  The belief is that everybody has a perfect balance of the 5 natural elements (earth, air, space, fire & water).  Certain foods help to keep that balance, and others disturb it.  For everyone those foods are different.  But, when those elements are in balance, you’ll generally be happy & healthy.

There are three basic categories, or doshas, Vata (air & space), Pitta (fire) and Kapha (earth & water).  My husband and I did the quizzie on www.joyfulbelly.com to determine our doshas (registration required).  We ended up with the same dosha (Kapha) but had different restrictions based on how we answered the questions on the quiz.  We are both restricted from foods with a cold effect such as milk, strawberries, and rose water.  My husband is even further restricted against pungent foods (balsamic vinegar, garlic, red onion) and those with a drying effect (raw apple, coffee, potatoes – sorry babe!).  But, having these on the no-no list DOES NOT mean you never get to eat them.  When prepared in a recipe, other ingredients can balance out the effects of these foods.  Of course, the closer to your balancing list you stick, the better off you’re going to be.  But I do like the fact that I don’t have to completely give up anything…  maybe.

As I was searching through the information on my dosha, I noticed lots of fruits and vegetables and drinks…  but mo meat!  So I looked up the category of non-vegetarian meat, and every single item listed is restricted for Kapha.  So it looks like I’m supposed to be a vegetarian.  I’ve done it once before.  It’ll be an adjustment to do it again, but I’m up for it.  I think in some instances I actually like the veggie version of foods better than the animal product.  Although it may be hard to stick to when we’re cooking for the kids.

Anyway, back to the point.  The more I read on Ayurveda the more it makes sense, to me at least.  Or maybe that’s just my inner-hippie wanting everything to be at peace.  I’ve tried enough diets and weight loss systems that trying one more can’t hurt, and might even be the right one for me!

And on an unrelated note…

I picked up my protein shakes last night to start bringing to work with me (my modified Slim-Fast diet) and I’m not completely sure I’ll make it through the 3 boxes I bought to last me the month!  They are soooooo sweet!  It’s almost sickeningly sweet.  I knew that giving up artificial sweeteners would heigten my sensitivity to sugar, but WOW!!! 

While I was drinking my shake at lunch (and marveling at the sweetness of it all) I looked on the container to see that it has 1g of sugar!  For the whole container!  Guess my use of agave nectar is paying off too. 

If I get my Ayurvedic diet going soon enough maybe I can take the shakes back and exchange them for Christmas gifts!  =)

Leave a Reply

