No ‘Poo – Take 2

So, those  that have followed my facebook for a while know that about a year and a half ago I decided to conduct an experiment on my hair.  I would no longer use shampoo to wash my hair! This was all based on a discussion topic and a few articles and blogs I found subsequently.  Everything I read about it said there was up to a two month adjustment period for your scalp to slow down its oil production.  But it’s all supposed to be worth it because your hair will be in its natural state, and you aren’t ashing all those nasty chemicals down your drain.

So, I tried it, and generally I liked it.  It was hard having to “squeegee” my hair with a washcloth to distribute the oils, but I did it.  The most amazing thing happened while I was in the midst of all of this…  the skin irritation that I’ve had behind my ear for years… went away.

Well, after two months was over and my hair was feeling heavy and unclean AND i was having some pretty severe split ends, I shampooed again.  It felt so good to have soft, clean, flowing hair again.  And I didn’t go crazy.  I tried shampooing once a week, and that wasn’t quite frequent enough.  I eventually found a balance shampooing about 2-3 times a week.  Only problem being…  the skin irritation came back.

I’ve tried all types of shampoos to get this patch of minor hell to go away, but to no avail.  You name it, I’ve tried it.  So a few days ago I got really irritated with the irritation.   (yes, I’m a closet comedian…  not!  lol!)  I decided that I would once again give no ‘poo its due.  I read a few more articles and read up on some alternatives, so I believe I am prepared for…

NO ‘POO TAKE 2

This time around I will:
-Clean my hair 2-3 times per week.
-Use a baking soda and water paste just at my roots (so as not to dry out the ends)
-Condition my hair normally for the time being
-If irritation shill occurs from the conditioner, I will use coconut or other natural oil to condition the ends of my hair.

…and that’s it!  (I may henna occassionally, but that would be about it.)

As I have revelations on the subject, I’ll post them here.  If you have questions or want links to my resources either comment here or on my facebook.

Nighty-night!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sydney
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 22:35:43

    This post is from the 7th and now it’s almost November so how is the no-poo method working for you? I just started mine today. Was the transition period bad? That’s the part I’m very worried about. Please let me know!

    Reply

  2. Shannon
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 11:47:36

    I’m having a couple of issues and I’ve had to shampoo my hair two times since I originally posted this, one being this morning.

    Before I started no’poo again I was only shampooing every 3rd or 4th day. After about 2 1/2 weeks of no ‘poo I developed a greasy spot on the beck of my head, so I shampooed then. It hasn’t come back since.

    My biggest problem with no ‘poo is that my hair tangles very easily when it’s wet, so not using conditioner makes for very difficult brushing. Yesterdsay I experimented with almond oil to condition the ends… didn’t help tangling at all and left my hair extremely greasy (but I’m pretty sure I just used too much – I’ll play with smaller amounts in the future). So I washed this morning to get the excess oil out… baking soda cleanse just didn’t get it all out.

    I know most blogs and articles say to go cold turkey with shampoo, but I think it’s more of a weaning process. Go as long as you can between shampoos and eventually you won’t need to anymore.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

